West Pier

This morning I went for my trial Zumba class at David Lloyd. I was nicely surprised as some of the music was the same as at my gym in Belgium, although the moves were different but it was a good class, and I've agreed to sign up for a 12 month membership.

After my class I decided to drive into the centre of Brighton in search of a blip. I blipped Brighton Pier when we came in March for Alan's interview, and I've been wanting to blip the derelict West Pier. So I parked up nearby and went down to the beach and took lots of shots in both mono and colour, but of them all my favourite is this one with the blue & white striped deckchairs.

The Pier has been derelict since the early 1990's and then was destroyed by fire in 2003, however there's a Trust who intend to restore it. Currently there's a 183 metre observation tower under construction at the shore end of the Pier which is due to open in 2015 and will provide a 360 viewing platform that will ascend and descend offering spectacular views - it should also provide some great blip opportunities!

Anyway while I was out Alan started painting the hall, stairs and landing. Although we're only renting the house, the paintwork was a bit grubby so we asked the Landlord if he'd mind us freshening it up. We've chosen a colour very similar to the original and whilst it's not finished yet, it's already a bit improvement.

Tonight we're going to a pub quiz - it's not something we normally do, but we've joined a social group called Fun in Brighton and the organiser arranges lots of different events. We thought that this would be a good opportunity to meet people as we'll be part of a team, so I'll let you know how it goes tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.