A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Penultimate day of holiday

J's football match was cancelled due to a waterlogged pitch so we headed to Westfield for the first skating session. Glad we did as it started relatively quietly and we avoided the enormous queues we saw later. We only really skate once a year, when all the various ice rinks pop up around town, so I tend to forget that I can do it and enjoy it and focus instead on hiding my nervousness from the kids. Skating relies on my participation as Carl broke his ankle when he was younger and the one time he did attempt ice skating he described himself as Bambi on ice so he is now the official photographer. Actually I think the kids would now happily go adult free but once I am on the ice and I remember that I can do it I really love it. And a really fun way to start the day. Followed by Churros con chocolate and coffees at the nearby tapas bar.

The afternoon has been much more low key: Christmas tree is down, yet more laundry has been done, Anna's room has been sort of tidied, football has been watched, books have been read. And rather oddly we have all planked for 20seconds on the first day of the 30 day plank challenge. As you do.

Lesley x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.