Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Walking to the Library

The two campus librarians are on their way back to the library after attending the president's "State of the College" address this afternoon. On the way into the address, I walked with them. We all asked if any of us knew what the college president was going to tell us today. They both agreed that it had to be good news because the news these past many months couldn't get any worse.

So sitting in the newest and nicest building on campus we all listened. We have a really nice president. She is kind and gracious and always encourages. She did the same today. She is excited that in this current year we have been granted accreditation as a college and are no longer just a satelite campus. She mentioned numerous other things, but overall it was a good message. I took lots of photos of her. But as the faculty exited the building, I noticed the two librarians in front of me and took one "point and hope" while walking behind them.

The library system has changed a lot in the years that I have been teaching and bigger changes are still to come, but one thing I know for sure--reading is the one subject that enhances all the other subjects. I have great respect for our librarians. Several times, Celia (wearing the blue jacket) has come to my home for a birthday celebration when I have asked all my friends to each bring a favorite book and to come planning to tell why the book is their favorite and to possibly read an excerpt from it. Celia has thoroughly enjoyed those gatherings.

She is a great help for me when I arrive at the library and need something. Can you imagine how many books those two have read. Wow!

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka

P.S. Thanks for all the comments on yesterday's books. I thought blipping the librarians today was apropos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.